Brief description

The union territory of Puducherry, formerly known as Pondicherry, consists of four small unconnected districts: Pondicherry, Karaikal and Yanam on the Bay of Bengal and Mahé on the Arabian Sea. Pondicherry and Karaikal have the largest areas and population, and are both enclaves of Tamil Nadu. Yanam and Mahé are enclaves of Andhra Pradesh and Kerala respectively. The territory has an area of 492 square kilometres (190 sq mi): Pondicherry 293 km², Karaikal 160 km², Mahé 9 km² and Yanam 30 km². Its 2011 population was 1,244,464.
Map showing the districts of Puducherry

Some of Puducherry’s districts are themselves amalgamations of non-contiguous enclaves, often called pockets in India. The Pondicherry district is made of 11 such pockets, some of which are very small and entirely surrounded by the territory of Tamil Nadu. The Mahé district is made up of three pockets. This unusual geography is a legacy of the colonial period with Puducherry retaining the borders of former French India.

Current weather

Filmed in Puducherry

Life of Pi

by Ang Lee [-]
Price: - $3.99 - -


Anegan (English Subtitled)

by K.V. Anand [-]
Price: - $3.49 - -


Police Police Telugu Movie

by Manmohan [-]
Price: - - - -


Related Literature


Close Comments